Teddy Bear Museum and Safari Park in South Korea

South Korea’s Jeju Island is home to the Teddy Bear Museum and Teseum, a safari-themed display of teddy bears and other animals.

The museum and touch museum or Teseum are part of the Jungmun Tourism complex on the resort island.

South Korea manufactures many of the cuddly stuffed toys enjoyed by children (and some adults) around the world. Teddy bears are always popular in all sizes and colors. They are friends for children and sentimental souvenirs for adults. 

Teddy’s Origin

Most Americans know that the teddy bear was named after President Theodore Roosevelt. The 26th president of the United States was a big game hunter who shot bears and other wild game. He returned from a Mississippi hunting trip without a bear was told that he could shoot a captive bear if he needed an animal to show for his hunting trip. He refused on the grounds that it was not sporting.

A cartoon of his excursion appeared in the Washington Post prompting Morris Michtom to create a stuffed animal and call it a teddy bear. Roosevelt approved and was actually delighted.

The Teddy Bear Museum shows many of the different sizes and shapes of this popular stuffed toy throughout the past century. Antique teddy bears made from mohair and other materials are on display. Early teddy bears were made from natural animal hair and fibers before non-allergic synthetic materials became the standard for stuffed toys.

This museum is open daily from 9:00 am until 7:00 pm.

The Teseum

This is an indoor safari-themed park where children can touch stuffed animals in a jungle setting. This includes a teddy bear in a safari suit and other popular toys including a tiger, panther, and deer. The exhibits show animals in the Amazon jungle, an Aqua Zone with stuffed sea creatures, the Fairy Tale Land with a Teddy Castle, and a Band Zone with musical bears. Children can sit on a sofa with full size stuffed bears for friends or climb over a giant bear.

These are a few of the creative exhibits that will delight everyone. The Teseum is open December through April from 8:30 am to 7:00 pm and May through November from 8:30 am until 7:30 pm.

A visit to the Teddy Bear Museum and the Teseum should be included with your trip to South Korea.

The Masonic Lodge Museum Fascinates the Public

The Freemasons have always been a mysterious group inspiring whispers and legends.

Now, you can learn a little more about the fascinating group, and get a little spooked at the same time.

The Masonic Lodge Museum, in Salamanca, Spain, offers an exhibit unlike anything else on earth. It’s full of spooky images, like skulls, blood, and an endless assortment of symbols. You won’t regret visiting this piece of history.  

Why was the Masonic Lodge Museum created?

In 1938, a member of dictator Francisco Franco’s government created the exhibit to scare the public about the dangers of Masonry. Years before, during the Spanish Civil War, Freemasons were outlawed. They built a replica of the freemason’s lodge in Gij√≥n, Spain, and then seized all of the Mason’s paraphernalia from surrounding lodges to expose their secrets to the public. They used the replica to display their seized objects, although it never actually opened to the public until 1993, and that’s what we see as the Masonic Lodge Museum today. 

What can be found in the Masonic Lodge Museum? 

Among the objects displayed are books, medals, jewelry, documents, and ceremonial clothing. Masonic symbols cover the items. Objects with skulls or anything “scary” were given special attention during the time of Francisco Franco, because they would shock the public and drive hate towards the freemasons. Although today these appear as nothing scarier than a Halloween decoration, during their time, it was shocking. 

One of the most interesting objects is a recreation of the Masonic Chamber of Reflection, used by new members to the group. 

How to visit the Masonic Lodge Museum

The exhibit is located in the National Historical Archive building in Salamanca, Spain. It’s part of the Spanish War Museum and is open all week. The best part of all, it’s free to the public. 

Grand Central Air Terminal Museum: Aviation History Worth Seeing

Grand Central Air Terminal Museum started as an aviation building.

Now, it’s a historical museum that is owned and operated by Disney. Located in Glendale, California, it has quite the history. The beautiful building has a mix of Spanish Revival, Art Deco, and Streamline Moderne styles. So, come along and take a look.

The Party that got the Town Talking

It all started with a local businessman that wanted to get the people of Glendale talking. He decided to host a party that required visitors to fly into his estate. This attracted the best of the best pilots and movie stars and encouraged the town to consider building a public airport. Opening in 1923, it was first named Glendale Municipal Airport and was the center of Southern California’s air transportation.

Famous Beginnings

Without LAX around yet, this was the airport of choice, and legendary figures in aviation would use this airport for their flights. Names like Amelia Earhart, Howard Hughes, and Charles Lindbergh came through the airport. By 1929, new investors had expanded the airport and named it Grand Central Air Terminal. Perhaps one of the more famous flights to take off from the newly named airport was when Lindbergh flew coast to coast on the United States’ first regularly scheduled flight. Before this, passengers would travel all day by air, then train by night multiple times to reach the east coast, which took 48 hours. By the late 1930s, aircraft could make the trip in just 15 hours. The small airport was made even more famous because it was the backdrop for several films. One such film was Shirley Temple’s 1934 hit Bright Eyes

War-Time Changes

World War II saw the airport being used as a defense base and was heavily camouflaged. The runway was lengthened to accommodate military planes. After the war, residents complained of the noise, and the runway was shortened. This made the airport accessible only to smaller aircraft, causing a loss in profits, and it closed its doors in 1959.

Disney Moves In

After it closed down, it was known as Grand Central Business Park, and it opened its doors to businesses to rent space. The Walt Disney Company was one of the first companies to move in, and it eventually came to own the entire business center. In 2013, Disney decided to restore the terminal building to its original glory, and once the project completed in 2015, they reopened the facility. Comprised of private offices and a museum, they were able to house original photographs and artifacts, as well as an educational film to show visiting guests. 

Take a Tour for Yourself

Today, you can visit the museum and learn about its roots. Visitors interested in attending one of their free monthly tours can sign up on their website. What a great way to experience a piece of aviation history!